Get Up!

I’ve been gone for a while.  While I’ve been gone, I have been in an unhealthy place in my mind.  I realized that my focus had again shifted off of Christ and onto the issues of life.  While I thought that the war for my mind had been fought and finished, I found that there were levels to the war and that only a battle had been won.  This place of my mind has been a little too familiar during the course of my life.  Today I woke up and I wasn’t feeling it.  As I finally got up and looked in the mirror, I thought to myself “God woke you up, it’s now your decision to GET UP!” Searching for peace of mind through scriptures for a while and trying to pray I felt a little better, but it was still this nagging sound of the issues of life in the back of my head.

I started to look through my raggedy bible, the one that has all of the notes and is falling apart.  The first thing that I saw was 1Kings 19.

Elijah was afraid and fled for his life. He went to Beersheba, a town in Judah, and he left his servant there. Then he went on alone into the wilderness, traveling all day. He sat down under a solitary broom tree and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died.” Then he lay down and slept under the broom tree. But as he was sleeping, an angel touched him and told him, “Get up and eat!” He looked around and there beside his head was some bread baked on hot stones and a jar of water! So he ate and drank and lay down again. Then the angel of the Lord came again and touched him and said, “Get up and eat some more, or the journey ahead will be too much for you.” So he got up and ate and drank, and the food gave him enough strength to travel forty days and forty nights to Mount Sinai,[a] the mountain of God.

Being transparent, this place is where I was this morning.  “I’ve had enough.”  I looked to a note on the side that I had written, and it said  “Get up and Eat! The Journey will be rough without being in my word, and there’s no way I can walk this walk malnourished.”

Today I was instructed to “get up and eat.”

There’s always a word for you to eat when you’re tired and without strength.  So, make the decision to get up and find something to eat to get strength to continue on your walk.

2 comments

  1. This is first time reading your blog Britt, I too had been struggling and trying to pray but was left with an empty feeling. This was so encouraging, time for me to get up and eat!

Leave a Reply

