The Secret Place

When I was a kid there was a tree that leaned from the neighbors backyard into ours. I was really afraid of thunderstorms and there was always the risk of the tree falling onto our house (on my bedroom) during bad storms. If there was a bad storm I would go downstairs, and wake up my dad if he wasn’t already awake. He would make me a pallet in the living room or in his den and I would go back to sleep. Sometimes when I was sleeping through the storm he would come and wake ME up because the storm was really bad. My dads den was his man cave. Fireplace, big screen tv, surround sound music system, and model cars. It was also the safest place in the house besides the basement.

I thought of this today. As I face a few storms in my life, I was reminded of those times when I was scared, those times when the storms shook me up, and those times that I ran into my fathers secret place looking for protection and comfort. I remembered this scripture:

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.” (‭Psalms‬ ‭91‬:‭1-2‬ NKJV)

My father isn’t here anymore. Since he hasn’t been here, I’ve had to come to know God as my father in every aspect of my life.  I encourage you to read all of Psalms 91.  Its so comforting to know that I still have a place of safety to run to. A place of protection from the storms that come to try to destroy me. This place is an even safer place than before. NOTHING can touch me.

You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day, Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday. A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you. (‭Psalms‬ ‭91‬:‭5-7‬

Feeling overwhelmed? Go and find your hiding place! Invade that secret place and be comforted.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

