Stay Alert

Life is full of ups and downs.  Naturally one would definitely appreciate the ups more than the downs (well at least I do.) Im going through a period in my life where I have accepted joy and peace as I so frequently talk about in my posts.

I’ll enter this little side-note here: Im not the type of Christian that blames the devil for everything.  In fact, i pay him little attention.  While I know that Satan is real, I see no purpose in giving him any extra focus.  So you will not see me blaming my issues on Satan.  i have instead taken on the mindset of:”ALL things work together for my good,” and “Consider it pure joy whenever you face trials of many kinds…” Well at least MOST of the time.

I was sitting down thinking: “The devil’s attacks haven’t really been present in my life lately.” It’s been a tad bit quiet. Many that know me will agree with the fact that I seem to live in a world of oblivion.  I am a very optimistic person, and I try my hardest to see the good in everything.  Life is just easier for me that way.  However, after noticing how some things in my life were QUIETLY being destroyed I came to this conclusion:

As you grow, satan can’t be as loud and obnoxious when he’s attacking you.  You’re aware of those types of tactics, so as you grow up in Christ he has to be more sneaky. When you sneak around, you have to be quiet so your prey isn’t aware.  This is probably why the following scripture starts off by saying “Stay Alert!”

1 Peter 5:8 New Living Translation (NLT)

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.

 I looked up how lions attack their prey.  Two things that make it easy for lions to attack are that they are very good at hiding (even when they are spotted, they turn as if they weren’t doing anything), and the prey that they hunt aren’t good at learning from their mistakes.  An article said that the antelope (typically what lions eat) will go to a certain area and one of them will be devoured.  Even after seeing that antelope being eaten, the remaining will leave for a little while and come right back to that very area.
How many times have you gone back to a mindset, or situation that you’ve seen others, or you yourself have been attacked in? We think that it is safe or that the danger of it is gone, when in actuality that is still the lion’s natural habitat.
We have to Stay alert, not living in paranoia…but being aware of our surroundings.
6 comments

  1. Amen! I truly agree. We do have to stay alert of every thing we see, feel think, act or do. ¨Stay Alert¨ I like this. I’m glad I cam across your blog. You just earned a new follower and I support a lot of people with their blogs. So, I will re- blog this. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I love the research piece you included with the Lion and the Antelope. I agree, it does seem like areas in our thinking where we have even gained some victory in, we go back to defeated thinking. I listen to Joyce Meyer frequently, and she constantly teaches on the battle of the mind coupled with the power of speaking words. It seems that we have this ongoing battle in our minds in which some days we are positive and the negative thoughts are subtracted, then there are days when one negative comes to mind and for days we go on thinking how terrible we are and all the situations we felt terrible in. As I am writing this and still reflecting on what you wrote, it seems that the Antelope has to be aware that at even given moment the Lion is sure to come, but he has to be even more alert in his thinking and strategy to flee and escape. And like you said, not living in paranoia but being aware and alert. I love it and enjoyed reading : )

    1. Derrick, thank you soooo much for reading! What you just stated is exactly what I learned when writing this! Being aware of our surroundings and putting on our spiritual armor is essential to not being devoured.

Leave a Reply

