Can’t Help Who You Love

I was the kid who always wanted to give the man on the corner money, the kid who watched the homeless man on the corner with the Veteran sign every time the car stopped at the light on Davenport St. coming off of the highway.  I was the kid who wanted to help the man that would always be outside of the grocery store even though he was always being mean to people.  When I went to college and my father would let his returnable bottles pile up, I would give the huge garbage bag full of bottles to the first person I seen that was in need.

I’ve never been concerned with whether or not they were actually homeless, or if their signs were fabricated.  I’ve always had a heart for them. One time my father asked me how much the bottles added up to, and I told him I gave them to a homeless man that was digging through the trash.  He disapproved, and then said “well, did he say thank you?” I said “yes,” and the truth is even if he didn’t say thank you I wouldn’t have regretted it.  My father used to ask my grandmother why I was so sensitive, and why I would do things like give away stuff.  My mother passed away when I was three moths old, and sensitivity SURELY did not come from his side lol.  My grandmother would say “well, that’s what Rhonda did when she was younger, or that’s how Rhonda responded when she was growing up.”

When I saw this I was moved to tears:

My brother once told me of a time where my mother gave someone a mink off of her back and I remember smiling from ear to ear in hopes that I would one day be so fortunate to do the same.  Watching this video reminded me of that story.  I want to be so selfless that I can help the overlooked people.  Even the people who aren’t really homeless and are scamming, because they have a need too.  I’ve realized lately that I love the unlikely.  Unlikely to be helped, unlikely to be heard, and the unlikely to be wanted. I can’t help it…it’s just a part of who I am. 🙂

Just wanted to share my heart tonight, and this scripture:

Matthew 25:34-40

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

37 “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing?39 When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

40 “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,[f] you were doing it to me!’

10 comments

  1. This is good! I’ve found my heart recently changed towards the homeless you never know what a person has gone through and there’s no promise you won’t be in the same situation.

Leave a Reply

