Perfect Form

I went bowling today (I suck at bowling).  However, there were some really great bowlers there.  I noticed some had the perfect form when they bowled, I mean they really looked like professional bowlers.  Out of the people that had this perfect form there were a couple who had the form, but lacked the power behind it.  Their score didn’t reflect what they appeared to be.  Are y’all with me yet?

2 Timothy 3:5 says:

Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

I used to attend a church where there was a schedule that was listed, and every Sunday that schedule was in place and it was not broken, that’s just the way it was.  I thought that since I went to church every Sunday that I was saved.  I thought that since I did my best to be morally correct, sang in the choir, and served on the usher board that I was a great person.  i later found out that I lacked relationship with Jesus Christ.  I had no idea that I could literally have a PERSONAL one on one, intimate, fun, loving relationship with Jesus where I could speak to him and he spoke back! That blew my mind.  The truth is, I had a FORM (an appearance) of godliness but because I wasn’t aware of the access that I had to Jesus, I was denying the power of him to REALLY work within me.  Deny: “to withhold something from, or refuse to grant request of.”

Becoming free of religion was the best thing that happened to my relationship with Jesus.  A lot of times we don’t even realize that we are bound in religion because honestly it’s what some of us are raised on.  I challenge you today to try Jesus, treat him as your friend, as someone who is real…because he is! Have the form of Godliness, but get to know him so that you can believe the POWER that God possesses.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

